As I sit here on my one day off in the middle of the week, I go through the list of errands I have to run, and one of them was "See if you can get the car in to get in inspected." My inspection is overdue...and as such, naturally, I got stopped for it the other day. It was at an inspection checkpoint in the town of Marlboro, where the police there really have nothing better to do than set up a stop on the one main road that goes through the town, during the aftenoon drive home time, and look for reasons to write stupid little ticky tack tickets, such as talking on the cell phone while driving, or expired inspection.
I knew my inspection was expired, so when I got to the checkpoint, I didn't even wait for the signal - I was pulling over as he noticed it. I even heard the guy laugh to his uniformed buddy "Look - he already knew!" Ha ha - yes I knew. I also knew that this ticket is the biggest crock of all the tickets you can write.
Right now, I am driving a little "get me back and forth to work" car - a 2001 Pontiac Sunfire. The "Check Engine" light came on a while ago, and I know it's a silly little sensor that needs to be replaced, but until I started working again, there was no way I could pay the ridiculous amounts charged by auto repair people for such a thing. An $80 part takes $200 of labor to install in 10 minutes? If you're going to screw me, at least buy me a drink first. My anger is not directed to the auto repair people, and not really at the police, because they all have their living to make, and if that's what they have to do, then that's what they have to do. My anger is with good old New York State - the one with the blind governor.
Other than the check engine light, I'm sure my little Pontiac would pass your very thorough "New York State Inspection". Hell, if I know the right person, he can turn the light off, reset it, pass the inspection and if the light comes on 10 miles down the road, no biggie - it already passed inspection! The point is this...right now, all across the country, people are driving new 2010 Toyota Priuses which are supposed to be fresh off the assembly line. These cars have an issue with the accelerator that makes it stick, leading to uncontrollable vehicles, but the accelerator is not checked during an inspection. So these 90 mph torpedoes would PASS THE NYS INSPECTION, but because I have a little oxygen sensor that means absolutely nothing in the grand scheme of things, my car won't pass, so I have to pay. I know I can carry around a form that basically says "My car was inspected, but because I already know it's a piece of crap, it failed" that gives me 30 days to get it fixed so it will pass. I look at some of the cars I see that have mufflers hanging down, all sorts of damage, windows taped up, and somehow those pass - again, it's all in who you know.
So the bottom line is this - New York State, when you get done looking at my little red car, you can inspect the whitest part of my ass to find a spot to kiss. You only make us do this to get money every year. There is no way every car with a valid inspection sticker would truly pass - there are many shops who turn off the light, and "sell" you a sticker, if you slip them a few bucks under the table. If we don't pay you for this inspection, then we get a ticket - where we have to pay you a "Mandatory NYS Surcharge", which on a $25 ticket is usually $55 dollars, which if my math is correct is a 220% markup! I'm starting to think Tony Soprano is our governor.
Anyone else feel this is outrageous? Sound off and let your voice be heard - and say what you want - NO FILTER REQUIRED!
Comments welcome as always on here, or on Facebook.
No comments:
Post a Comment