Monday, March 29, 2010

How sick is "Too sick to work"?

I woke up this morning after a very busy weekend where I knew that something was catching up to me. My throat has been a little scratchy for about three days, and I've been coughing a little more than usual for the last two days. The lousy thing about that is you think you can rest up on the weekend, but like most of us, I made commitments to do things this weekend that once they got here, I couldn't beg out of just because I felt "yucky." I had hockey games to referee last night, I had an adult hockey clinic that I was the substitute coach for, and I had a comedy show that I emceed Saturday night. I couldn't bring myself to cancel on any of those things, because there are more people than just me affected by every single one.

So I wake up this morning, I can't breathe out of my right nostril, my throat feels like a cat's tongue, and I am on my second cup of coffee to keep warm. Immediately, I thought, "If I don't feel better soon, I'm not going to work." It was at that point that I thought for a few minutes, then wanted to kick my own ass.

I skated four different times this weekend although I wasn't feeling 100%, I got up on stage and emceed a 2 hour comedy show, including a total of about 10 minutes of my own material, even though I didn't feel well. Now I think to myself, "I should stay home because I don't feel well." Shame on me.

It is 9:22 as I write this - I have to leave by 12:15 to be at work by 1:00. For a little bit, I already checked out on work, thinking "I have things I can do around the house. I have laundry I can catch up on." Let's just remember that until February 9 of this year, and since October of 2008, I DIDN'T HAVE A JOB. Granted, a year of that was spent in school so that I could get a job, but now I have one - a decent one (in this economy, ANY job is a decent job) and here I am already deciding to not go because I "don't feel well".

So I had a moment of clarity. I took 2 Advil because I have a slight toothache too, and 2 Day-Quil to clear up my nose. I'll bring some cough drops for my cough and scratchy throat, and I will go to work, because why should I put more emphasis on those weekend things that I had to make sure I did?

Ask my wife - I don't get sick often, and when I get sick, I get REALLY sick. This isn't sick - this is "feels crappy". I hate calling into work - especially since I'll be the only Med. Tech from 4:00 - 9:00 tonight. The Doctor needs me, the patients need me to be there.

I'm not saying that I wouldn't stay home if I was legitimately sick - heck I had a flu bug so bad once that I was sent home from work, and ended up out for 5 days, and my boss knew I was so sick, she didn't even ask for a Doctor's note. If I feel like I'm endangering myself or others, I won't go. Today, I just "feel yucky". For some people, that's more than enough reason.

If Emily, Wyatt or Cole is sick enough to not go to school, I have used my sick time to take care of them. Not the case today - so it is now time for me to wrap this up, suck it up, and get ready to go to work.

Do you or anyone you know call in to work at the drop of a hat? If so, I won't judge you - to each their own, and some people have a different tolerance for getting through than others do, but I will check out the comments either on the blog or on the Facebook link - but I'll do it during a break from work, or after I get home. I have to go shower and get ready now.

No comments:

Post a Comment