Saturday, December 31, 2011

Reflections on the last 365 days and thoughts on the next 366 (leap year, you know!)

It's 11:03 pm on December 31, 2011. Let me start by wishing everyone a Happy, Healthy, and SAFE New Year. Remember folks, it's Amateur Night, so watch out for EVERYONE.

This past year has had a lot of twists and turns, but I suppose we say that every year. We started the year in Highland and I was working in Highland Mills which sounds like it should be close. It isn't. 45 minute drive each way. I made the drive every day in a car that had no heat, but I had a job, so I was happy.

An opportunity came up in March to work closer to home, so I started working at the Hudson Valley Healing Arts Center in Hyde Park. I don't plan on ever leaving. It's so rare to find a job that you love. I've gotten very lucky.

In September we were faced with the fact that our landlord only looked out for herself. She informed us that we should look for a new place, basically giving us 33 days to find a new home. We lucked out again and found a place in Hyde Park within a week. It has been the best move possible. I'm finally back home. Hyde Park may have issues, but it's not like Highland, where if you have a bowel movement the entire town discusses what you had for dinner. I have never seen a more gossip filled town in my life. Good riddance Highland.

So, we start 2012 in Hyde Park, and as much as I said last year at this time that I don't do "resolutions", I have some things I need to work on. Mostly, me. I have lost touch with a lot of friends over the years, and as I get older, I realize that friendships, especially good ones, are worth keeping up on. I also have to change some things about me. My weight has gotten out of control, so I'm going to be working on my diet. I want to lose at least 25 pounds, so goodbye enjoyable food and hello to tons of water and smarter food choices. No more beer. Perhaps a Jack and Coke every once a month, but beer is gone. After my champagne toast tonight, eliminating all those empty carbs.

I also swear too much. I always tell the kids that resorting to swearing means you can't think of anything intelligent to say. Time to practice what I preach.

In closing, I want to thank everyone who reads this. I will do better writing this year. Be well everyone.

Comments are welcome on Facebook and Twitter (billwinters18 - follow me!)

Thursday, December 8, 2011

Ch-ch-ch-Changes

Hello everyone!  I can't believe it has been since July since I've written anything, but I've been really busy with a few things.   That would explain the title of this entry.

After nearly 6 years in Highland, we have "come home". We moved back into Hyde Park in October. It's so nice to be back in the town I grew up in. Without going into detail, let's just say the town of Highland and the Winters family grew apart. It wasn't even a "it's not you, it's me" thing. It was definitely you Highland. You are a town that has no concept of keeping people's personal business as, you know, PERSONAL.   Other than Emily missing her teacher, there really isn't much I'll miss about you.

My kids were so cool about this. We had to use the money we had set aside for our Christmas Disney trip to move. Janel and I were heartbroken about it, but the kids basically said "so we go next year". My kids are awesome.

Switching schools can be a pain, but Hyde Park was very good about it. The cool thing is Wyatt will eventually play hockey for FDR, like I did 25 years ago. 

It's so nice being closer to my family. It seems like old times, especially now that my kids and my brother and sister's kids are in the same district.

You can go home again. Next entry will be a little more from my mind and not just an update. Plus, I now have an app so I can do this on my phone, so it'll be easier that way too!

Until then, I can hear the strains of the "Welcome Back, Kotter" theme in my head. Hey that gives me an idea for the next entry....

Saturday, July 23, 2011

Some people have no idea what "Tragedy" is....and I don't mean the Bee Gees song.

Hello my friends. Little time no talk. Sorry about that. I'll try to do better next time. You're all such good friends even when I stay out of touch for a while....

So today, as I'm on the way home from a nice day with the family at a water park, I was reminded that Amy Winehouse passed away. I shrugged my shoulders, wondered who had her in the various "Death Pools" around the country, and went about my day.

I like to read the newspaper online because I am frugal (and by frugal, I mean cheap). I clicked onto the New York Daily News because it is the one I read more than anything, and they label Amy Winehouse's death a "tragedy". Hold on folks, this is going to get a little bumpy...

Amy Winehouse had exactly ONE song that I know of that did anything chart worthy, and it was a biographical song about the fact that she refused to go to "Rehab" to deal with her issues. Over the last few years, I have heard nothing about Amy Winehouse other than that she is still on drugs, and every performance she attempts turns into a giant sh*t show. The fact that she died, presumably from an overdose, or some drug related thing that caused her body to say "Enough is Enough!" is newsworthy, yes...but not my idea of a tragedy.

My best friend lost his grandmother unexpectedly last weekend. That is a tragedy. Casey Anthony somehow got away with killing her daughter. That is a travesty and a tragedy. 100 innocent people were gunned down in Norway...yes I said Norway. That is a tragedy.

I also read how her "sultry voice changed the landscape of Pop music." Yeah, that's why Lady GaGa makes a sh*t ton of money - because of her Amy Winehouse idolization. Please. Amy Winehouse had one catchy little song years ago, and that's it. It's like Kurt Cobain all over again. Nirvana was an OK band, but Dave Grohl did OK for himself after the demise of the all mighty Nirvana - last I knew, the Foo Fighters made so much money, that if they write a check, their bank bounces.

I'm getting off my soapbox now and anxiously awaiting your comments, which are welcome here, on Facebook, or Follow me on Twitter and tweet me at @billwinters18.

I have come to the end of this entry...and even THAT isn't a tragedy!

Saturday, July 2, 2011

To Protect and Serve....and flex their "Badge Muscles" for show.

Hello again everyone. You're probably getting sick of me by now, but I had to vent a little bit tonight.

Before anyone makes too harsh a judgement based on the title of this entry, let me start by saying that I come from a family that has represented the Police for a long time. My father was a former New York State Trooper, and my brother proudly served on the City of Poughkeepsie Police force. They served with honor and dignity and a respect for the badge, the uniform, and the very idea of protecting the public. I respect the job of a police officer to the highest degree. These are men and women that, at any given moment, are put in harm's way, and it's their job to be there so that innocent people like myself and my wife and children don't have to be. That being said, I have to share what happened earlier tonight.

I was a passenger in a vehicle, coming home from a baseball game. As we hit the village of Highland, the Fireworks display had ended, and traffic was pretty heavy for a little village. As the driver of the vehicle went to make a right hand turn to head toward my house, a town police officer appeared out of nowhere, waving his flashlight/baton, and screaming. "WHAT, ARE YOU TRYING TO HIT ME? GO THAT WAY!" Waving his baton to signal that we should be turning left instead of right. The driver of the vehicle yelled back to him, "NO I'M NOT TRYING TO HIT YOU...I JUST SAW YOU NOW." "WHAT DO YOU MEAN YOU JUST SAW ME? I'M WEARING A TRAFFIC VEST AND CARRYING THIS LIGHT!" "I'M JUST SAYING I DIDN'T SEE YOU!" Yes, the voices were escalating just as I have them typed here. The driver then proceeds to crank the wheel to turn the way the officer directed him, when I hear {THUMP} "STOP THAT VEHICLE RIGHT NOW!" He had hit the back of my ride's car with his baton, in anger, because someone had dared yelled back at him after he yelled at the driver of the vehicle. So the vehicle was pulled into a sidewalk parking spot.

Did I mention we had 3 kids in the vehicle as well? Well, we did.

So after sitting for a few minutes, Officer Roid Rage comes flying up on his 4 wheeler (not wearing a helmet - fine example to set for the kids) and after more verbal back and forth with the driver, says to him "YOU CAN'T THINK WHEN YOU'RE DRIVING. YOU JUST HAVE TO DO WHAT I TELL YOU." He then says to the driver "YOU HAVE KIDS IN THE CAR, AND THIS IS HOW YOU WANT TO BEHAVE?" Funny, I thought the same thing about his actions.

The driver gets back in the car, Officer Roid Rage makes him show his license, registration and insurance, and then basically brow beats him some more as a second officer pulls up for "moral support". The driver had already apoloigized to him for misreading his directions, which as a passenger watching the whole thing, I saw the exact same way the driver did.

The driver should not have yelled back at the officer. I get that. I'm sure he was embarrassed and wasn't trying to run down a police officer, especially since he used to BE A POLICE OFFICER IN NYC! That however does not necessitate Officer Roid Rage to strike the vehicle with his baton and continue to antagonize the poor guy as he was trying to apologize and cooperate.

With all the rumors floating around about the behavior of police officers in local police forces around our area, I just think everyone needs to tone it down. All we were trying to do was get home. The yelling shouldn't have happened, but neither should an officer strike a vehicle because his panties got a little bunched. Protect and serve. Don't antagaonize and intimidate. That's all I'm saying.

I finally made it home, by the way. No tickets were issued. I never got the officer's name, otherwise I might have called the police to report him. Again, the whole thing could have been avoided if there wasn't any shouting going on. I'm just glad I wasn't driving.

Has this happened to you? I anxiously await the replies. I especially want to hear someone from the police side of the story. I understand if the guy felt he was in a bad position, but the driver basically told him he didn't see him, and tried to move on from there. This officer just wouldn't let it go that easily. He had to prove a point. He had to flex the "Badge Muscles" and put on a show for the public. He also had to scare the three kids in the back of the car that had no idea what was going on.

Again, for the record, a police officer is a thankless job. For all the crap they put up with, I can understand having a little edge to you, but the chip on the shoulder isn't needed.

Comment here on the blog, on Facebook, or follow and tweet me at @billwinters18.

Apparently, in the town of Highland, the Fireworks don't end with the Grand Finale.

Friday, July 1, 2011

"Oh Say Can You See....la la la la....."

Hello again my friends. Today is July 1st, and if my math is correct, that would make Monday July 4th. The birthday of the United States of America! Celebrated by parades, fireworks, and all the Red White and Blue you could possibly imagine. Everything is Stars and Stripes!! Baseball games will have a rousing National Anthem. Shame that most of the people won't know how to properly sing it.

I have had the honor of singing our National Anthem, The Star Spangled Banner quite possibly 25 times or so at different sporting events, some as little as a High School Hockey game, some as large as a Minor League Baseball game (I have also sang the Canadian Anthem in the past too, but that's another story for another time.) It is not an easy song to sing, and most people do not even know the proper lyrics to it. As much as I have performed it, I have an advantage, but if you polled 100 random people, I think at least half would get the words wrong. Unfortunately, celebrities don't help. Ask Christina Aguilera. I'm sure nobody was watching, it was only THE FREAKIN' SUPER BOWL!!

When I was in good old Staatsburg Elementary School, I was taught America the Beautiful. Most people know America the Beautiful. It's an easy song to sing. The range is a little tough, but so is the Star Spangled Banner's. America the Beautiful is a nice little song, describing the different landscapes across this beautiful country we live in. The Star Spangled Banner is based off of a British drinking song...ironic since on July 4th, we celebrate our independence from the British.

On March 3rd, 1931, the Star Spangled Banner was named our National Anthem by President Herbert Hoover (who shares my birthday...which I'm not overly proud of now.) I am of the opinion that this was a mistake. I think America The Beautiful would have been a better choice.

Don't get me wrong. I like the Star Spangled Banner when I hear it done INSTRUMENTALLY. When I hear it played at the Olympics as they raise the Stars and Stripes, I get tingles. The best part of it instrumentally is that NOBODY SCREWS UP THE LYRICS. I get tingles when I hear people SING America the Beautiful - check out Ray Charles if you don't believe me.

What do you think? Do you KNOW all the lyrics to the Star Spangled Banner? Do you like my choice as an alternate National Anthem? Do you have a better choice? It's INDEPENDENCE DAY WEEKEND! TAKE ADVANTAGE OF YOUR FREEDOM! LET YOUR VOICES BE HEARD! Comments are welcome here, Facebook, or follow me on Twitter at BillWinters18.

God Bless you all....and God Bless the United States of America (my Obama impersonation loses A LOT in written form!!)

Saturday, June 25, 2011

New York.....You Made Me Proud.

Hello again everyone. I told you I would be in better contact, and here I am - less than a week later!

As I laid down to go to bed last night, my wife says "Turn on the news - they just passed the Marriage Equality bill!" So as I quickly fumbled for the remote, I finally found it and turned on HLN because it's the only news channel I have memorized. Unfortunately, they had on Showbiz Tonight. I don't think Kim Kardashian taking an X-Ray of her posterior to prove it's all real is "news", but if they do, well good for them.

Eventually I grabbed my phone and went to where I go for all my late breaking news - Facebook and Twitter. Indeed, it was true. New York did indeed pass the Marriage Equality bill, on the same weekend of the big Gay Pride Parade in New York City. The only letdown is that it takes 30 days for the bill to become enacted, and I feel like this may be a very long month for a lot of people.

My wife and I have as many, if not more, gay friends than straight friends. Some of whom have been in more committed relationships than our straight friends. I am a happily married heterosexual male, and I don't feel the least bit threatened that the sanctity of my marriage is compromised now that a man will legally be able to marry another man in my state. Or a woman marrying a woman. I have a blast at wedding receptions, so as long as there's a party, you can count me supportive of your union!

I am so happy for my circle of friends, who are openly gay, but I still will not mention names until I get the OK from them to do so. Janel has been wanting to wear a tux to a wedding for years, and now she'll get the chance!

My biggest concern is that there will be a lot of people who now wish to get married, but there will be a lot of people who want no part of conducting these ceremonies. I have decided to follow my friend Jamie Robinson's lead and become ordained so that these situations don't have to happen. Once I am official, I will marry you - gay, straight, or somewhere in between. Love is love. Janel has always said that you love a person's soul, not their gender, and I will be honored to help committed couples share the same feeling of togetherness that Janel and I share.

Congratulations to New York and all of it's citizens that now have the same rights. Marriage is an equal union between two people. Now the right to marry is just as equal, and in my humble opinion, there isn't one thing wrong with that.

Comments as always are welcome here and on Facebook, and now on Twitter. You can follow me at @billwinters18.

Sunday, June 19, 2011

Reflections on a Sunday at the mall....

Hello everyone...remember me? I used to be the guy who blogged about things pretty much like clockwork every Tuesday. Unfortunately for the blog community, I don't have Tuesdays off anymore, but I felt compelled to jump on here on an otherwise beautiful Sunday afternoon because of my venture out today.

Today as you may be aware is Father's Day, so first I wish everyone a Happy Father's Day. I am the father of a wonderful 7 year old girl, who thought that my PERFECT Father's Day gift should be to take her to see a movie. I get very busy during the week, and I was under the impression (mistakenly as it appears) that the weather was going to be lousy today, so Janel, Emily and I decided to take a trip to see Mr. Popper's Penguins at the Poughkeepsie Palleria....oops, Galleria. Alliteration can be a real easy trap to fall into!

So, we left plenty early for the 2:00 movie, and the little things I saw that prompted me to write today are probably things that we've all seen in every mall in the country, but I feel as if I'm doing a public service by writing this today. These are open letters to various people I saw today - let's just play along and pretend they'll actually see them. I'm kind of happy they won't in actuality. That would take all the fun out of the whole experience. Anyway, here we go....

Dear Guy who hands out the samples at the Chinese food place,
I know that part of your job is to offer samples of your wonderful cuisine to everyone who passes by, but use your brain and your common sense. I walk by, you ask me if I'd like a sample, I say "No thank you." One minute later, I walk by the other way to go to a different place, and you ask me again. I haven't changed my clothes or gotten a haircut in the 60 seconds since our first encounter, so I'm pretty sure I'm still pretty recognizable. Again, I kindly say "No Thank You" and head to the smoothie place. With smoothie in hand, about 2 minutes later, you ask me AGAIN. Get the hint - if I didn't want to try your 3 hour old, rubbery chicken the first two times, what on earth would make you think that I suddenly had an epiphany and thought "Perhaps I'm missing out on this culinary masterpiece" the third time? If I wanted your chicken, I wouldn't have gone to Taco Bell.

Dear Middle Aged Lady living vicariously through your teenage daughter,
You look ridiculous. I understand that you want to be the "cool mom", and be a friend to your kid, but that doesn't mean that you need to wear clothes that match what your daughter wears. As much as it may be a dream to be considered a MILF, be thankful that "To Catch A Predator" doesn't do a reverse show for old women looking to secretly hook up with their daughter's male friends.

Dear Teenage Daughter of the lady mentioned above,
I don't know how in the world it became acceptable to wear clothes at a young age that make you look like a tramp, but regardless of what you've been taught about positive self-image, showing that much skin in public is as ridiculous as your mother's get-up. Cover yourself up.

Dear Mall Security,
I'm sorry you never got into the police academy, but your silly little badge and hat don't impress me. When the entire scope of your "security" duties is running the lost and found, I'd feel pretty much as secure without you as I do with you.

Dear Man and Woman with a combind 100 tattoos, 75 body piercings, and other body modifications,
If you don't want me to stare, don't look like a train wreck. You really think the satan-like horns you had implanted into your skull wouldn't make people look twice? I would bet that's why you did it - to "shock" people. You want to shock me? Let me see you behind the counter at the bank as an employee - that would shock me into soiling myself.

Dear 16 Screen Movie Theater,
It's Sunday afternoon. A lot of people go to the movies on Sunday afternoon. You might want to think about having more than two overworked kids working the snack bar. I shouldn't have to wait in line the same amount of time as the total runnung time of the movie I'm there to see.

Dear overworked kid at the snack bar of above mentioned Cinema,
I feel for you. You're swamped, and the public can be a pain in the posterior, but I ordered a popcorn and a drink. I am pretty sure you don't get paid commission, so stop trying to "upsell" me so hard. No I don't want Twizzlers - if I did, I would have ordered them. I do feel for you though.

Dear Lady going WAY to fast in the parking lot,
You almost made me pull my kid's arm out of the socket. SLOW THE **** DOWN! It's not a raceway, it's a parking lot. That parking space isn't worth killing my family over.

Well, that's the ones that stuck in my head anyway. If you have any you'd like to write, comment them on here or on Facebook. I enjoyed this - I forgot how nice it is to write. I hope you enjoyed it too. I promise I'll call more often.

Friday, April 8, 2011

Telling, Tattling....or the right thing to do?

Hi everyone...remember me? Sorry to take so long between entries....oh, I'm not good at long drawn out apologies, but things have gotten much better. I switched jobs and no longer have to commute 45 minutes OR work late nights anymore. More on that later...

Anyway, the reason I have fired up the old laptop is one that I have always kind of wondered about, but never long enough to give it any decent thought. Well, it's a Friday night and I don't have anything to do, so I thought I'd tackle this. Earlier today, Emily was telling us about a classmate who was sitting at the wrong table, and she wasn't sure if he was allowed to, and before she was finished telling the story, we told her that it wasn't nice to tattle. We've always told the kids that tattling wasn't something that they should be doing, but then I got to thinking.

I want my children to grow up and be resepectful of the rules, no matter what the situation. As part of that, if they see someone breaking the rules, it's my opinion that they have a responsibility to report it. We tell them all the time to respect police officers, respect their elders, basically respect everyone. If we see someone breaking the law, we have a civic responsibility to report it. How is that any different from a little girl in first grade reporting to her teacher something that she has been told is against the rules? I understand that there is a difference between laws and rules, but try explaining that to a 7 year old.

So, comment away. When does tattling cease to be tattling and start to be the proper thing? Is there an age? Is there a certain moment in life? I honestly don't have any answer, so my friends, I open it up to you. Comments are always welcome here on the blog, or as always, on Facebook.

Until then...I've missed you!!!!

Tuesday, February 1, 2011

First in a series of Reader Suggestions - "Toddler Rearing" - for Lauren Ferdinand-Intagliata.

A while back I was having some writer's block and asked for suggestions for ideas, and I promised that every one would be attempted if I could make anything out of them. One of my most loyal readers, Lauren (I'm not typing that hyphenated thing again!) has a beautiful little boy named Jack who is now 14 months old, and her and her husband Jay, who I hope to meet one day, are first time parents. Therefore, if they are like I was when Emily was born, they are COMPLETELY clueless on a day to day basis, scared to death that their kid will have them on Maury someday talking about how they screwed up his life, and are loving every minute of it.

I was lucky - I had a little practice on my stepson Cole when he was little. I knew how to change diapers and feed kids and all that, but when Emily came, it was all new. Changing diapers on a girl is different than on a boy - boys can hit you square in the face if a chill hits them. Girls need to be cleaned more thoroughly. Did you know the parts were different?

Jack is walking now - and when Emily started, she went from crawl to sprint. Apparently, Jack is trying to talk now. When we were working with Emily, her first word was "Daddy" (which Janel can NEVER take away from me! I RULE!), but we also made sure we taught her other important words like "Please", "Thank You", "Love you," and more practical words like "Hot", "No", "Easy". and the rest she picked up on her own. I thought it was important to instill her "kind words" like please and thank you, and to this day, she uses them more than most kids.

They have tempers at that age too. I am not one who tolerates screaming very well, but somehow, you learn. If a toddler doesn't get their way, I learned you can't just give into them all the time, even though you may want to for many reasons, such as love, or the need for quiet. You learn the difference between anger crying, pain crying, and over-tired crying. I don't know how, but you can just hear the difference.

I am a firm believer in hugging and holding, especially for the father. Mommy had the baby inside for all that time, so they have that innate bond. I talked to Emily in the womb, sang to her, and I am convinced that when she was born, when she heard my voice the first time, she looked for me. I did ALL the evening feedings (if you're not nursing, that's MUCH easier for the Daddy to do!) That was my bonding time. I fed her, held her until she was back to sleep, held her for about 5 minutes more, ALWAYS kissed her head before I put her back in her crib, and to this day, Emily is not shy or embarrassed about hugging or kissing Daddy. I think kids need that "I'm loved enough to know that he won't let ANYTHING happen to me if he can help it" feeling.

You learn how to be firm but still be loving. I never talked baby talk to her - she won't talk baby talk now because I talked to her like a little person, not a baby. Her speech is excellent because of it.

I can't say I have all the answers - I may have just gotten lucky. Hell, they say if you put 1000 monkeys in front of typewriters, eventually one of them will type Shakespeare. My advice is - don't get too much advice. Do what feels right - we were all kids before, and we know what worked for us. Just be there for them - the world is a scary place, and they will be out in it before you know it. Emily will be 7 next week - it seems like tomorrow will come, and she'll be 17, wanting the keys to the car.

Enjoy being a parent. If you like it, even on days where it feels like a pain in the ass, it makes it much easier. Janel has always encouraged the kids to have their opinions about things. Respect that, even if at that point, you don't really care what their opinion is. I had to learn that.

Lauren, I hope this helps. Thank you for your suggestion, and Thanks as well for your continuing support. Please share my blog with people you know - tell your friends to click on it. The more readers the better. Comments as always are welcome here or on Facebook.

Jamie - your suggestion is next. In the meantime, I must go make lunch for two kids on a snow day. Bill's famous Grilled Cheese Sammiches coming up!

Tuesday, January 25, 2011

"Great movie? Wouldn't know - never saw it."

I got to thinking the other day, after I had asked everyone for suggestions in regards to what I should write about, that a friend of mine thought I was from another world because until this recent Christmas season, I had never fully seen "National Lampoon's Christmas Vacation". I was told I was "UnAmerican" because I had just FINALLY witnessed the cinematic tour de force that is Chevy Chase at Christmastime. Don't get me wrong - I thoroughly enjoyed the movie, but then I got to thinking about what movies I still have never seen - and on the other end of the spectrum, what movies that no matter how many times I've seen them, I will sit and watch them whenever I see them on.

I also for the first time in my life sat and watched two Alfred Hitchcock classics in their entirety within the last two weeks. I finally saw "The Birds" and "Psycho" and I must say, even though the cinematography and dialogue are extremely dated, they both are very scary still. I was deeply disturbed at the end of "The Birds" because they never explained what made those damn birds so crazy - and ever since then, if I see 2 or more crows sitting together, I get nervous.

Unbelievable to some - I am 40 years old, and have never seen any of the Godfather movies. Janel has tried to get me to see them, but I don't want to be interrupted when I watch them, and until I have the time to sit and watch that way, I won't do it. Perhaps some Tuesday when I'm off.....

I have never seen "Gone With the Wind" - and I really don't have any desire to either. I tried to watch "Titanic" - but I already know the boat sinks, so why bother?

Now, I have seen all the Star Wars movies more times than I can count and oddly enough Janel has only seen half of Episode 3, and has no idea why #3 is actually the 6th movie. I have seen the Rocky Horror Picture Show over 50 times. I will watch "Murder in the First" any time I see it on. I will basically watch ANY Tom Hanks movie whenever they come on, and lately I have watched "Jaws" 5 times in the last 2 weeks. There are so many other ones that escape me right now.

So my friends, what movies have you never seen that would surprise people, and what movies are like a drug - that you just have to see, no matter where they are, in the middle or the beginning? Comments are welcome here or on Facebook. Who knows - maybe I'll have some new ideas to plug into Netflix when I'm done here. Right now, I think "The Shawshank Redemption" is coming on, so I'm outta here!

Saturday, January 1, 2011

New Year's Resolutions? No thanks.....

Hello all. I see by my little notice here that I haven't written since November 9. I really loathe the holiday season - too many things to so, too many places to be, not enough money to do what I'd like to do for everyone...the whole time from just after Thanksgiving until New Year's really grates on me.

Today is 1/1/11, and as I sit here, I think about all the "resolutions" people make every year at this time. I always wonder how that got started. "Today is the start of the New Year - I will be SO MUCH DIFFERENT than last year." Ummmm....no you won't. I make resolutions every day - and you know what, I break about 90% of them. I yell at the kids for doing something stupid, then I promise myself "I won't yell next time, I'll try a different approach." I try that approach, they don't listen, so I resort to what I know.

I promise myself all the time "I'm going to eat better." I'm also broke most of the time, so if I have nothing but Ramen noodles in the house, then the hell with the sodium content, I'm having Ramen noodles for dinner.

I have resolved in the past to write blog entries more consistently, but the only time I have to do them is usually Tuesdays when I have my day off. Weekends are out - way too much to do with the kids, and most Tuesdays now are used to catch up with laundry, or dishes, or the 1000 other menial tasks that need to be done around the house on any given day.

So - will I break tradition and make resolutions this year? Not really. Will I try to make a more concerted effort to write? Yes - because it's like therapy for me, and for one reason or another, there are a lot of you who seem to enjoy it. Will I try not to yell at my kids? That's totally contingent on if they decide to remain stupid. Am I going to eat better? Lately, I have coffee in the morning and am so busy at work that I don't eat lunch then eat something when I get home, so we'll see. I eat what I have available - if that means dinner is a bowl of Life cereal at 9:45 PM, then that's what I'm eating.

I always strive to improve as a person, but I don't need a day like January 1st to say "For most of the past 365 days, I've been a total loser and liar to myself - but by golly gee whiz, starting today, I'm going to be a whole new me!"

If you make resolutions, I certainly don't begrudge you - I just want to be able to look back 365 days from now and think "Well, at least I didn't lie to myself or anyone else." I'll start to watch my cholesterol because my blood work tells me I need to - I'll take my medicine for it (if I remember it - which I didn't this morning. Damn.) and see if it helps.

So my friends, let me know - do you agree with me? Have you made resolutions? Do you ever keep the ones you make? Comments are always welcome here on the blog, or on Facebook. I have to go now - I forgot my Lipitor this morning.