Hello all. I see by my little notice here that I haven't written since November 9. I really loathe the holiday season - too many things to so, too many places to be, not enough money to do what I'd like to do for everyone...the whole time from just after Thanksgiving until New Year's really grates on me.
Today is 1/1/11, and as I sit here, I think about all the "resolutions" people make every year at this time. I always wonder how that got started. "Today is the start of the New Year - I will be SO MUCH DIFFERENT than last year." Ummmm....no you won't. I make resolutions every day - and you know what, I break about 90% of them. I yell at the kids for doing something stupid, then I promise myself "I won't yell next time, I'll try a different approach." I try that approach, they don't listen, so I resort to what I know.
I promise myself all the time "I'm going to eat better." I'm also broke most of the time, so if I have nothing but Ramen noodles in the house, then the hell with the sodium content, I'm having Ramen noodles for dinner.
I have resolved in the past to write blog entries more consistently, but the only time I have to do them is usually Tuesdays when I have my day off. Weekends are out - way too much to do with the kids, and most Tuesdays now are used to catch up with laundry, or dishes, or the 1000 other menial tasks that need to be done around the house on any given day.
So - will I break tradition and make resolutions this year? Not really. Will I try to make a more concerted effort to write? Yes - because it's like therapy for me, and for one reason or another, there are a lot of you who seem to enjoy it. Will I try not to yell at my kids? That's totally contingent on if they decide to remain stupid. Am I going to eat better? Lately, I have coffee in the morning and am so busy at work that I don't eat lunch then eat something when I get home, so we'll see. I eat what I have available - if that means dinner is a bowl of Life cereal at 9:45 PM, then that's what I'm eating.
I always strive to improve as a person, but I don't need a day like January 1st to say "For most of the past 365 days, I've been a total loser and liar to myself - but by golly gee whiz, starting today, I'm going to be a whole new me!"
If you make resolutions, I certainly don't begrudge you - I just want to be able to look back 365 days from now and think "Well, at least I didn't lie to myself or anyone else." I'll start to watch my cholesterol because my blood work tells me I need to - I'll take my medicine for it (if I remember it - which I didn't this morning. Damn.) and see if it helps.
So my friends, let me know - do you agree with me? Have you made resolutions? Do you ever keep the ones you make? Comments are always welcome here on the blog, or on Facebook. I have to go now - I forgot my Lipitor this morning.
No comments:
Post a Comment