About 45 minutes ago, I got a delivery from UPS. This is not earth shattering - tons of people get UPS deliveries every day, but what happened after that got me to thinking. Let me backtrack....
I opened my package - it was the Flip video camera Wyatt got for Christmas that wasn't working, so I had to send it back to the company for repairs or replacement. So, I get the camera back today - it's in a small carton surrounded by those God-awful green packing peanuts that always seem to get EVERYWHERE, and it was also wrapped in a bubble-wrap pouch.
You know where this is going, don't you?
I proceeded to take the camera out of the bubble-wrap pouch, and although I spent a decent amount of money on the camera, had to withstand the disappointment on Wyatt's face when it didn't work, then had to wait 4 weeks to get it back, you think I put the batteries in immediately and tested the camera to make sure it worked? Nope....
I popped the stupid bubble-wrap.
And I did it with a 5 year old's unabashed joy.
I do it every time something comes in bubble-wrap.
WHAT THE HELL IS WRONG WITH ME?? Why do we do stupid meaningless things like that? There are a lot of other stupid, pointless things we do. Some are so stupid, I am ashamed to admit to them.
I will NEVER have cake and ice cream on the same plate - or bowl, or whatever dish ware I'm using. I don't like cold, soggy cake, and I don't like crumbly ice cream, so I keep them separate. My family loves to torture me with this. I literally will throw the whole thing away, plate and all, if someone does that to me.
I will NEVER drink soda before 11:00 AM. I have this weird feeling that if I do, it stays on my teeth for 4 days - no matter how I brush.
Janel is not immune either - she can't open Popsicles. That paper wrapping, when it rips, is like nails on a blackboard to her. I have to take the Popsicle into another room to open it away from her. She also gets completely skeeved if someone drinks the milk from the bowl after eating the cereal. Her exact words - "It's USED MILK!". My response "Yes - but I used it!"
So - what stupid little things do you do? What stupid superstitions or idiosyncrasies do you have? As always, you can comment here or on the Facebook link to this entry.
No comments:
Post a Comment