Friday, October 26, 2012

INSPECT THIS - 2012 Redux

Hello my friends - you're looking well!  Have you been working out?  I was - but not lately - but that's a story for another time....

In 2010, I wrote about my anger with New York State regarding the ridiculousness of the annual NYS Vehicle inspection.  For those who didn't see it, here it is...go ahead and read it - I'll wait.

https://www.blogger.com/blogger.g?blogID=4707919910671984040#editor/target=post;postID=3306603787214536518

So, what brings me back to this rant?  An experience I had yesterday that got me angrier than a stutterer trying to read Dr. Seuss.

Last year, I bought my little Mini Cooper Convertible.  The brakes on the car were done before I picked it up, and it was inspected.  I have put a decent amount of miles on the car, but I don't abuse the thing.  I just don't think it can take that sort of treatment. 

Anyway, I noticed (with the help of a friendly neighborhood Town of Hyde Park Policeman) that my inspection had expired at the end of September.  I had thought it was October, but whatever.  I was strongly encouraged to have my inspection done.  As I work right next to a Monro Muffler shop, and I needed my oil changed as well, I thought "I'll go there".  Am I regretting that decision?  Would I be writing if it all went smoothly?  Nay nay, I would not, so.....let us move on.

After a couple of hours, I get a phone call saying my car will not pass inspection because I need new tires and new brake pads (which, ironically, is what Monro SPECIALIZES in - brakes and tires).  I was told that to get the brakes done and the tires I need for it to pass, it would cost me about $675 altogether.  Like most of you, I don't have an extra $675 that I can willy nilly just whip out for this - especailly since I did my back brakes earlier this year and they cost me over $400.00.  So I told them, "I can't do the tires and brakes right now - I'm not having problems with them - put the front left tire back on (that's what they took off to "inspect") and just do the oil change and I'll set up an appointment for the other stuff." 

I went over and picked up my car, and had a coupon for $20.00 off the oil change - which was negated by the fact that I have a "special" oil filter that they didn't have and had to buy.  Nice little bait and switch there.  So I start the car and two indicator lights on my dashboard that weren't on when I dropped the car off are glowing like stars in the night sky.  One is the tire pressure warning light, and the other is one I had never seen before, so I grab my manual (which I keep in the glove box because I am automotively illiterate) and look it up.  It's an indicator that says MY BRAKE PADS ARE LOW - which ironically is what they just told me.  I had pads that ground down to the rotors once when I fixed the back brakes and that light never came on.  If I hadn't looked it up, I wouldn't even know it was an OPTION.  The tire pressure light was also not on before I took it there, so I stopped to check the pressure on all the tires.  Oddly enough, the ONLY one in desperate need of air was the tire they removed - and it was down to less than 10 psi, when it normally is at 32. 

Now, I don't have a camera taking video of them doing my car, and I would never have thought until now of taking pictures of my dashboard indicator lights beforehand, but I really honestly feel like they sabotaged my car to get extra business out of me.  It doesn't matter that I use the car to TRANSPORT MY CHILDREN places - let's take the air out of the tire to see if he buys new ones from us.  Well, here's the deal Monro - when I do decide to get my tires and brakes, it sure as hell won't be from you.  I may even make a nice big sign and post it on the road by your business calling you out. 

Has this, or ANYTHING like this ever happened to any of you?  If so - comment away!!  Comments as always are welcome here, on the Facebook link, or on Twitter at @billwinters18.

Time for me to go.  I have to go call someone to get my inspection re-done.



1 comment:

  1. We took the pickup truck to monroe once and they failed it. I then took it to dave. He told me what they failed it for they are not supose to fail it on. Also we did not have a light on when we went in and then when we came out we had a brake light on! I tried a few "friends" to work on my car and other shops and lets say they bent me over! Now I only go to dave!

    ReplyDelete