What happened in Haiti is an absolute tragedy - and there really are no answers. I've heard some religious freaks say that God did it to Haiti, so they must have deserved it. Funny, every picture I've seen of the devastation is of innocent people, mostly children (because that's what makes powerful news stories - let's show children in pain to guilt people into helping), and I'm quite sure they did nothing to inflict the wrath of God, or whatever supreme being you believe (or don't believe) in to cause mass destruction. You see it all over Facebook and Twitter (which I have, but never use, because I just don't like it). People with their opinions, and the major backlash I see now is "Why help Haiti when we're in trouble?"
I will be the first to admit it. Americans are a little jaded, and somewhat spoiled, but with that being said, I can't help Haiti right now. My wife got into a heated discussion thread on Facebook with someone she DOESN'T EVEN KNOW, who basically called her heartless for saying that we all shouldn't just drop what we're doing and everyone needs to help Haiti. There are people in the US of A, the "Land of Opportunity" that are homeless, hungry, and can not receive medical assistance. A person very close to me has not had medical insurance for as long as I can remember, and due to diabetes and high blood pressure, is faced with the very grim reality of losing her eyesight. She describes her eyesight right now as "trying to look around scattered pieces of black tape that seem to be stuck to my eyes that I can't remove." Where is the outcry to help her? The sad reality is that this woman, in due time, will probably not be able to see her eight grandchildren's faces because of this. Yet, nobody is offering to help her. Disability applications take nearly six months to process, and oh by the way, her husband was laid off a few months ago, so neither of them are able to work (he has a chronic bad back and just a few years ago had surgery to help alleviate excruciating leg pain - his employer provided health insurance for him, but not her.)
If you are affluent, or in any way financially comfortable, and you make the PERSONAL decision to help out Haiti by sending your money there, I will not begrudge your decision - as long as it is heartfelt. I see these telethons that are thrown together where performers "volunteer" their time (except for the "appearance fee" that they all invariably charge - hell, even the bottom feeders on "Jersey Shore" won't even show up for dinner at their parents' houses without some form of compensation). If you feel like donating to Haiti, and can comfortably do it, by all means, do whatever makes you feel worthwhile. As for me, I'm not sending you my rent payment to build you a house just so I can lose mine. My children have to take priority over the sad pictures the news constantly shoves at us.
I implore everyone though to look in your own backyard first though. Our country is in bad shape - and no matter WHO is President, it's not going to be a quick fix. If you have disposable income, try donating it to help your neighbor, whose last name you probably don't even know, that may have to depend on a Meals on Wheels delivery in order to eat. Charity begins at home - a lesson we all seem to forget.
The fact that my wife got into a diatribe that started to turn slightly vicious before she took the high road and walked away tells me something. Everyone is entitled to their own opinion - but because my opinion is different than yours, personal attacks are OK at that point? Well, if you hit my dog, I will kick your cat. Freedom of speech unfortunately begets freedom of stupidity, freedom of personal attack, and freedom of hate. That's pretty sad. That's why I respect and try to honor our military personnel, who VOLUNTEER to defend everyone's right to be loud and to state their opinions. These same men and women who are now off to Haiti to help out... and the circle continues.
What do you think? Comment here or on Facebook.
Random rantings of an exasperated 43 year old on life and all the weird little quirks that come along with it.
Thursday, January 28, 2010
Monday, January 25, 2010
Going Through The Motions
You ever have stretches of days where it feels like the movie "Groundhog Day" is your life, only there's no camera around? I think we all do. The weekdays feel like that for me lately. I get up, I wake up my daughter and have a little morning conversation to get her brain going (which is a dangerous proposition, because once the power kicks on in there, she's so smart and funny sometimes that I don't want to leave). Depending on if the boys are home - I always see Cole in the morning, Wyatt sometimes goes right to school if he was at his Dad's the night before. Either way, I do as much as I can to help them get ready for school. If I have to assist a class, I'm out the door by 7:45 - if not, I'm taking them out for the bus at 8:35. Once that's done though, the monotony begins.
So, I have a slight deviation to my schedule tomorrow evening...I will tell you about it then becuase I don't want to jinx myself.
So, since this entry is "Going Through The Motions", if you could go back in time and focus more then on what you realize you should have, be it school, or a talent, or anything like that - what would it be? Feel free to comment here on the blog, or comment on Facebook - I share all these entries on Facebook anyway. I wish I would have known when I was younger that I was a decent singer - everyone says I am, so if I had known, maybe a vocal coach back then would have me on Broadway now (and no Jamie, that doesn't take the "Not" out of my nickname...private joke that a few will get). I also would have started refereeing at the earliest I could - maybe I would have been doing major college or junior or even minor pro games by now. I probably wouldn't have ever stopped playing my trumpet either - I saw Chris Botti in Boston on DVD this weekend - and he was phenomenal.
So folks, what is your hidden, or late discovered talent that you would have cultivated? Enquiring minds want to know!
So, I have a slight deviation to my schedule tomorrow evening...I will tell you about it then becuase I don't want to jinx myself.
So, since this entry is "Going Through The Motions", if you could go back in time and focus more then on what you realize you should have, be it school, or a talent, or anything like that - what would it be? Feel free to comment here on the blog, or comment on Facebook - I share all these entries on Facebook anyway. I wish I would have known when I was younger that I was a decent singer - everyone says I am, so if I had known, maybe a vocal coach back then would have me on Broadway now (and no Jamie, that doesn't take the "Not" out of my nickname...private joke that a few will get). I also would have started refereeing at the earliest I could - maybe I would have been doing major college or junior or even minor pro games by now. I probably wouldn't have ever stopped playing my trumpet either - I saw Chris Botti in Boston on DVD this weekend - and he was phenomenal.
So folks, what is your hidden, or late discovered talent that you would have cultivated? Enquiring minds want to know!
Friday, January 22, 2010
TGIF??
Everyone Thanks God it's Friday. Why? Don't you all still have to go work for 8 hours? I say TGIS - Thank God it's Saturday. Of course, when you don't have much of a job to go to (I am a Teachers Assistant at my old school - but I only assist on one class a day right now), I guess it really doesn't matter very much. The weekend is actually busier for me - I am a hockey referee and I get to do a lot of games on weekends.
Had lunch at a local diner today - if I'm ordering a salad, trying to eat healthy and watch my portions, why on earth would you give me a salad the size of Rhode Island? I like chicken salad....but not enough to spackle a house with.
Dieting sucks by the way. I don't know how I got to be where I'm at weight-wise, but getting back down is a lot harder. I have promised to lose 40 pounds before I turn 40 in 29 weeks. That's 1.4 pounds a week. Let's hope I can do it. Otherwise, I am going to overdose on Ben & Jerry's.
I really wish I had gotten up last night and written. I seem to remember that I had a couple of REALLY good ideas for this, but when I woke up this morning, I can't remember them. Oh well.
I find it very funny, and yet very sad, that Facebook says I have over 500 friends...and yet I don't even know my neighbor's last name. It isn't on the mailbox either, so it's not like I can cheat.
Oh well - the mind is bone dry. Time to go fold laundry.
Tune in tomorrow for more scintillating adventures!
Had lunch at a local diner today - if I'm ordering a salad, trying to eat healthy and watch my portions, why on earth would you give me a salad the size of Rhode Island? I like chicken salad....but not enough to spackle a house with.
Dieting sucks by the way. I don't know how I got to be where I'm at weight-wise, but getting back down is a lot harder. I have promised to lose 40 pounds before I turn 40 in 29 weeks. That's 1.4 pounds a week. Let's hope I can do it. Otherwise, I am going to overdose on Ben & Jerry's.
I really wish I had gotten up last night and written. I seem to remember that I had a couple of REALLY good ideas for this, but when I woke up this morning, I can't remember them. Oh well.
I find it very funny, and yet very sad, that Facebook says I have over 500 friends...and yet I don't even know my neighbor's last name. It isn't on the mailbox either, so it's not like I can cheat.
Oh well - the mind is bone dry. Time to go fold laundry.
Tune in tomorrow for more scintillating adventures!
Thursday, January 21, 2010
What the heck does the title mean?
No filter required means I don't have a filter. I can say whatever I want - and you can't stop me. I'm quite sure not everything will be politically correct - and that's OK - I find politics to be quite incorrect more often than not. But enough of that - a little about me....
I am Bill - no last names, I may be an alcoholic, and they're not required to state their last names. I never understood that. You go to Alcoholics Anonymous, and the first thing they do is make you say your damn name. Where's the anonymous part?
Anyway - I am going to hit 40 on August 10, 2010. I am married and have three children that defy logic most of the time. Two of them I have no genetic input on - my stepsons Wyatt and Cole. Wyatt is 13 - I more often than not refer to him as Wy - although it should be Why, as in "WHY DO YOU DO THE STUPID THINGS YOU DO?" Cole is 9 - and may be the funniest 9 year old going. His humor hurts people. I'm so proud....
The one I do have a part of genetically is Emily. She is 6. She will cause me to spend time in prison. God forbid any little long haired skater punk ever shows up to take her out. I have a shotgun and a shovel - and I doubt anyone would miss them.
I am currently looking for full time employment. I was in banking for 20 years and it absolutely sucked ass. I went back to school to become a Medical Assistant, and graduated about a month ago. Now the finding the job part. I suppose I should be looking now, but it's late at night, and I don't think any doctors are in their offices for me to call, so back off!!
My wife rocks. Her name is Janel - she was named after Superman's Mother. I couldn't make that up. She keeps me in check. OK, she frightens the shit out of me, so I do what she says. I am a good husband that way...
So, what will I be rambling about? Whatever comes into my head. I thought about this today as I was stopped at a traffic light for 5 minutes waiting for a funeral procession to go through. You spend maybe 1/1000th of your life in your car stopped at red lights (I'm just guessing on that - don't have exact stats on that one), but yet when you die, they let the funeral procession go THROUGH red lights to get you to your final resting place. At that point, it's TOO FREAKING LATE!!! I'm not in a rush at that point - and I certainly don't have anywhere else to go!!
That's the kind of crap that runs through my head. That's why I, on occasion, dabble into stand-up comedy. Not that I'm overly funny, but I'm better than the last jerk-off we had on stage a week ago. Getting drunk and talking about masturbating isn't funny - it's....high school.
Well, that'll do for now. It's 10:11 PM, and I have to hit the head, then the hay. Busy day of being unemployed waiting for me tomorrow.
Tune in tomorrow for another exciting adventure!
I am Bill - no last names, I may be an alcoholic, and they're not required to state their last names. I never understood that. You go to Alcoholics Anonymous, and the first thing they do is make you say your damn name. Where's the anonymous part?
Anyway - I am going to hit 40 on August 10, 2010. I am married and have three children that defy logic most of the time. Two of them I have no genetic input on - my stepsons Wyatt and Cole. Wyatt is 13 - I more often than not refer to him as Wy - although it should be Why, as in "WHY DO YOU DO THE STUPID THINGS YOU DO?" Cole is 9 - and may be the funniest 9 year old going. His humor hurts people. I'm so proud...
The one I do have a part of genetically is Emily. She is 6. She will cause me to spend time in prison. God forbid any little long haired skater punk ever shows up to take her out. I have a shotgun and a shovel - and I doubt anyone would miss them.
I am currently looking for full time employment. I was in banking for 20 years and it absolutely sucked ass. I went back to school to become a Medical Assistant, and graduated about a month ago. Now the finding the job part. I suppose I should be looking now, but it's late at night, and I don't think any doctors are in their offices for me to call, so back off!!
My wife rocks. Her name is Janel - she was named after Superman's Mother. I couldn't make that up. She keeps me in check. OK, she frightens the shit out of me, so I do what she says. I am a good husband that way...
So, what will I be rambling about? Whatever comes into my head. I thought about this today as I was stopped at a traffic light for 5 minutes waiting for a funeral procession to go through. You spend maybe 1/1000th of your life in your car stopped at red lights (I'm just guessing on that - don't have exact stats on that one), but yet when you die, they let the funeral procession go THROUGH red lights to get you to your final resting place. At that point, it's TOO FREAKING LATE!!! I'm not in a rush at that point - and I certainly don't have anywhere else to go!!
That's the kind of crap that runs through my head. That's why I, on occasion, dabble into stand-up comedy. Not that I'm overly funny, but I'm better than the last jerk-off we had on stage a week ago. Getting drunk and talking about masturbating isn't funny - it's....high school.
Well, that'll do for now. It's 10:11 PM, and I have to hit the head, then the hay. Busy day of being unemployed waiting for me tomorrow.
Tune in tomorrow for another exciting adventure!
Subscribe to:
Comments (Atom)