Friday, October 11, 2013

Glorifying bad behavior - Why do we tolerate it?

Hello all.  I'm taking to the keyboard today because of something that occurred last night that I knew was coming, but wasn't sure how I was going to feel about it.  Now that it's happened, I'm just a little bit disgusted, and I'm sure I'll piss a couple of people off, but as far as caring about that, that ship has sailed a long time ago.

From when it first started airing, I was a big fan of "Glee".  As someone with a musical background, I found it to be pretty entertaining, if not completely realistic.  OK, not at ALL realistic, but that's another topic for another time.  There are a few main characters on the show that constantly get jammed down our throats, one of which was a kid named Finn Hudson.

Finn Hudson was played by actor Cory Monteith.  Earlier this year, Cory Monteith died from what medical examiners ruled an "accidental overdose" and a "toxic combination of alcohol and heroin".

Let me state right now that a "dose" is something that is prescribed by a doctor for a medication.  Therefore, by that logic, unless some doctor actually prescribed the heroin to him, any usage of a drug without a valid prescription is technically an "overdose".  Heroin isn't legal under any circumstances, so he abused an illegal drug, mixed it with alcohol (which is legal, and he was of age so I don't have a problem with that) and it cost him his life.

Ever since it happened, the sympathy for this guy has been all over the place.  "Glee" actually ran a tribute episode to him last night, basically treating Finn Hudson as the real-life Cory Monteith.  However, on the show, they never mentioned how Finn Hudson died.  If they didn't want it to be drug-induced, that's fine - that really wasn't part of his character anyway.  He was an athlete on the show, they could have had him have some type of aneurysm or heart issue like athletes sometimes have.  You know what they had as cause of death?  Neither do I.  The most syrupy, sugary line of the night came from the character of Kurt Hummel, who was Finn's step-brother on the show when he said "Who cares how he died?  I care about how he lived."  That might not be the exact line - I'm paraphrasing a bit, but either way, what a disservice to a show that tries to always teach some kind of moral message.

It does matter how he died.  Cory Monteith died because he used illegal drugs.  This is worth glorifying?  This is something that we should be celebrating?  I don't care if he was the real-life boyfriend of the cringe-inducing Lea Michelle, who if I never hear sing again would be just fine with me.

We do this all the time.  We glorify bad behavior.  Charlie Sheen was idolized while he was the crazy drug addicted "#winning" guy.  Kanye West calls himself Yeezus because he thinks he's God, gets Kim Kardashian pregnant, beats up paparazzi, and people still love him, even though the sounds coming from the bathroom during my worst battles of both diarrhea and constipation are better than anything he can muster.

The bottom line is we give famous people a pass for things that if we saw some random person on the street doing, we'd vilify them for it.  Not me.  I call it as I see it.  If you don't like it, it doesn't bother me.  I will not apologize for calling this kind of crap out.

As for Cory Monteith's death, it isn't tragic.  It's his own doing.  If anyone wants sympathy about it, look in the dictionary between "sh*t" and "syphilis".  You'll find it there.  You won't find it here.

Comments are welcomed and encouraged.  I expect to be blasted by at least one person, but if anyone else wants to blast, fire away.  Just don't complain if you kick the hornet's nest and end up getting stung.

Sunday, August 25, 2013

Slut shaming - or calling it like I see it.

Greetings everyone!!   I hope you've enjoyed your summer.  I have - but I feel as if I have something to get out for mass consumption, so indulge me a little here.

Last night I posted a status on Facebook based off of what I saw the other night.  It said this:

This is a public service announcement based off the fact that I have a daughter who is getting older....if the pockets of your shorts come down further than your legs do, you need new shorts - that is slutty. If you wear a top in which 50% or more of your bra is visible, change your clothes - that is slutty. What in the blue hell happened to a little bit of modesty?

I expected some comments and wanted to initiate discussion, but things went a little differently than I thought they would.  A friend of mine, apparently not happy with the fact I used the word "slutty" twice, brought up the term "slut shaming" and stated that if a girl wants to express herself by wearing revealing clothes that she shouldn't be judged.

I have a daughter who is 9.  My biggest fears are being realized - shes growing up and is starting to need to wear things that she never did before.  Part of learning how to wear these things is teaching her that they shouldn't be showing,  I have always hated visible bra straps.  I understand that sometimes it can't be helped, and that a visible shoulder strap isn't the end of the world, but when I see 14, 15 year old girls wearing tops that expose not just the shoulder straps, but the entire back where the clasp is, that is unnecessary. I understand that girls think short shorts are cute, but if the pocket hangs down past the legs of the shorts, cute ot not, at that age that is completely unacceptable.

If an 18 year old or older wants to dress that way, whatever....you're supposedly an adult and if that's how you want to portray yourself, then so be it.  However, there is no reason at all for anyone 13, 14, 15 to dress that way.  As I said last night, there is a serious parenting issue there.  Most of the time, the parents try to live vicariously through the kids and want to be their "friend" instead of their parent.  Either that, or worse, they just don't give a shit.  Look, I am a friend to my children when they need that, but that never supercedes the fact that I am their PARENT first.  If that makes me unpopular with them, or if my wife feels that makes me too much of a hard-ass, I make no apologies for that.  The world is a sick, twisted place on many levels, and I have a duty to protect my children form that for as long as I can.  Anyone who thinks otherwise needs to get their head out of the sand.  If you have a daughter in the pre-teen to early teenage years and you condone her dressing to show off her goods, you're not her parent OR her friend - you're an enabler.

I have an extreme issue with my daughter's dance costumes.  I used to have an issue with her cheerleader uniform.  I am not Mama June.  I am not raising Honey Boo Boo.  I am in no hurry to have my daughter grow up so fast.  I certainly don't need her looking older than what she is.  I just got her team dance photos - my girl is one of 2 girls NOT wearing an off the shoulder costume, and the ONLY one not caked up with enough makeup to hide Jimmy Hoffa.

Again, I reiterate - no matter what a girl wears or doesn't wear, even if she's completely naked, if she says NO - that doesn't mean maybe - it means No.  I live in reality.  There are too many people out there that don't subscribe to that belief.  I just don't want to add anything to the equation that might encourage that behavior.  If that means my daughter dresses too "conservative", and you have a problem that I won't let my kid "grow up", then it was nice knowing you.  You can lead your lamb to the slaughter how you wish - my lamb will be in my barn, safe and sound.

Comments as always are encouraged.  I look forward to hearing from all of you - especially my friends with kids, and even the kids.  Ask your kids why they feel the need to dress that way.  Have a discussion with them.  I don't need to read about any of my friends having to form search parties for their missing kids.

I really am looking forward to your input.


Sunday, June 9, 2013

This is why I don't like watching movies - I don't like to THINK.

Greetings my friends - it is a beautiful Sunday morning as I sit on the old Chromebook, typing away.  The rest of the house is asleep, but my mind is turning,  As it has been for the last two days.  Let me tell you why....

Janel and I went on kind of a "double date" with Wyatt and his girlfriend.  In reality, the kids were going to a movie, Janel had a gift card to the theater, and Cole and Emily were other places, so we had a free night and nothing to do.  So the four of us went to the Galleria and saw "The Purge".

If you're not familiar with the concept of this movie, let me try to explain quickly but completely.  In the year 2022, America has been "reborn" - crime is almost non-existent, unemployment is at 1%...sounds like Utopia right?  The reason it got that way is that once a year, on the arbitrary day of March 21 at 7:00 PM for 12 hours, all crime is legal.  No police - no emergency services.  All crime including murder is legal - and dare I say encouraged.  It is the belief of the "new founding fathers" of America that this 12 hour window "purges" us (I love when the title of the movie makes it's way into the movie - like Peter Griffin does!) of our need to be animalistic.  I also think, although it isn't said, that the killing of homeless people also "purges" (see what I did there??) the country of what ails it.

That's the idea - now if you want to see the movie, I won't give you much more, other than to say Ethan Hawke really mailed this one in and the dialogue sounds like it was written by a child.

My problem is with the concept of the plot - and how it would relate to the people I know.  I was asked after the movie if I would take part in killing or other crime because I could, or if I would just stay in the house.  Of course, I have a few people in this world I just don't like (Sidney Crosby, I'm looking at you - all my hockey friends will get that reference), but I don't think I harbor that much hatred towards ANYONE.  I retch and vomit when I hear Taylor Swift come on the radio, but is that reason enough to want to hunt her down and kill her?  I don't believe it is.  I'm also sure I've probably pissed someone off enough that for 12 hours, I'd have a target on my back as well.  I have asked a couple of people, and I got responses from "No way" to "I already have a list."

I know we all have things in our lives that are horrible to deal with, and some of them may have been directly caused by another person - but would you, without any fear of repercussion, take the opportunity to "right the wrong" in your life?

This stupid movie has had me thinking about this on and off for 48 hours.  Now I burden you all with my burden.  What would you  do?  Do you have a list?  Would you freely divulge it, like a scene in the movie when a radio talk show was taking calls and a guy says "I'm going after my son of a bitch boss?"

For a movie that was maybe 2 stars out of 5, it sure does have me thinking.  Your responses will be very interesting.  I would love to see comments - but if the subject is too personal, you can direct message me your response, or Tweet me at @billwinters18.

Now I think I'll go "purge" my brain and watch something less thought provoking - like anything with Adam Sandler in it.


Sunday, April 21, 2013

A Personally Harsh Reality

Greetings my friends.  It's been a while.  I don't normally use this as a forum for bad feelings, but today is a little different.  Today cemented something for me that I have been in denial about for a while.

As I type this, my left arm is in a sling because I did something seriously bad to my shoulder, my upper lip is fat and cut, my chin is a little banged up and my left arm is scratched up a bit.  I played hockey earlier tonight and somehow, I train wrecked myself into the back post of the goal net.  Face and shoulder first.  Must have looked pretty bad, because I feel like I've been in a car accident.  I like to think I have a pretty decent pain tolerance, but in the Urgent Care, after my inconclusive X-ray, I felt the tears coming down as the pain in my shoulder reached heights that I'm not sure I've ever felt.

My wife basically told me in no uncertain terms that she didn't want me to play ever again.  She said this to me last year after my concussion and the 4 days of post-concussion syndrome that I spent on the couch drifting in and out of sleep.  Well, after about 9 months I started to get the itch to play again, and even though I knew she didn't like it, she agreed to let me play.  Well, after tonight, there will be no more bargaining.  I started playing at 10 years old, played on my high school team all four years, and have played off and on the next 25 years.  Tonight was the last time I will ever lace up my skates as a player.  Ever.  No ifs, ands, or buts.  I will still referee, because I am basically out of the line of fire most of the time doing that, but my hockey stick is now retired.  And that hurts me just as much as the searing pain ripping through my left shoulder.

My daughter is now 9 years old.  She's growing up way too quickly, and I know that before I realize it, she'll be in middle school, and fawning over boys, then High School, and driving, and hopefully making decisions that won't keep me up at night.  It seems like just yesterday she would lay on my belly and fall asleep.  She was my baby.  She's definitely not a baby anymore.  That hurts me as much as the searing pain that is still ripping through my left shoulder.

I look in the mirror now, and I notice things are changing.  I was always the skinny kid growing up.  Not so much anymore.  I notice that when I get my haircut, as it grows in, more and more grey is slipping into the mix.  On the days I don't shave, a LOT more grey comes in.  That hurts me as much as.....you get the idea.

My harsh reality is that I am officially getting old.  I am 42, and for the first time ever, I am scared of it.  I am now taking cholesterol medicine on a daily basis, because apparently 265 is a bad cholesterol number.  I have aches and pains on a daily basis.  I find myself saying things that my father said, that I used to laugh at because he was a "cranky old man" who didn't understand.  My wife said it best when she said "That number on your hockey jersey is not your age."  Because my usual number is 18, she's right.

I want to be around for my kids.  I don't need something stupid happening in a meaningless hockey game that leaves me disabled, or paralyzed, or even worse.  I don't want to drop dead of a heart attack because my cholesterol is so bad that my blood looks like Crisco.

I feel like I should be at some kind of support group.  "Hello, I'm Bill....and I'm a geriatric."

Is anyone else like me?  Do you think a lot more about this stuff than you used to?  I'm anxious to read the comments on this one.

Thanks for listening.  I'll try to be much funnier next time.

Saturday, December 29, 2012

Facebook - the unhealthy relationship we ALL keep going.

Hello everyone.  As I sit here on a snowy Saturday night, watching two of my children try and beat each other in Call Of Duty, Black Ops II (which I don't like at all, but they do), I, as just about everyone does now, grabbed my laptop, or phone, or whatever was closest as absent mindedly jumped  onto Facebook.  I really didn't have any reason to, but when we all get bored, that's what we do.  So, instead of just posting aimless random nonsense, I asked what I should write about, and was told to write about "the idiocy of Facebook" which is ironically what I decided to write about.  

I am an avid Facebook user, as well as an avid Twitter user.  I also post photos to Instagram, post things to Foursquare and Get Glue, and write this thing from time to time.  Not quite sure how I got involved with doing all these things, but I do.  Tonight, I want to discuss Facebook and Twitter.

I joined Facebook originally as an alternative to MySpace, because it felt like that was being overrun by kids.  When I joined Facebook, it was specifically to keep in touch with people I went to high school with, and a few long distance family members.  I post status updates for a few reasons.  Making people laugh is one of them.  Making people think is another.  Sometimes, I do it to express my pride in things my kids or wife have done.  Occasionally, I link to articles I think are interesting, but for the most part, I just stick to the basics.

I am on Twitter to entertain myself for the completely stupid things people say.  Between the celebrities that spout off on things and the cyber-side of people I know that surprise me, I chuckle at Twitter more often than not.  I rarely tweet anything that isn't linked to something.  I don't have many followers, because I think my Twitter feed is pretty boring.

My rant tonight is on Facebook mostly, and the things that pop up on my "timeline".  I have hidden so many people on there due to recent events, be it the election, or the Newtown tragedy.  If it were easier to go through and "thin the herd" on my friends list, I would.  

I would NEVER deny anyone their opinion, or the right to express them, but with that being said, I also   won't subject myself to ridicule and scorn based on what I believe. I had opinions on who I wished to win the Presidential election, but I never expressed them for fear of verbal retribution.  I have seen people that say "if you voted for __________ you are stupid and should be killed."  Really????  I have my beliefs on the 2nd Amendment and guns, but I dare not express them publicly for fear of being labeled a "p***y" or "nutjob".  

Am I just being the grumpy old man, or does Facebook act just like the dead end relationship that you know you'd be better off without, but just can't cut loose?  If so, how do you handle it?  Ironically enough, I will be using FB to monitor responses to this.

Thanks for listening. You may now go back to pictures of Tard the angry, butt-ugly cat.

Wednesday, November 21, 2012

Thanksgiving....and the "Holiday" Season.

Hello my friends!  As we all prepare to give Thanks tomorrow then stuff ourselves to excess, watch football, and fall asleep early, I thought I'd share a few thoughts on the happenings of the next few days.  Come along for the ride.

I am truly thankful for all the good things I have.  My family, my friends, my job.  All important things that I sometimes take for granted.  Now, sometimes my family pisses me off, and sometimes my friends can be grade A douchenozzles, and some days my job absolutely kicks me in the nether regions wearing steel toed boots, but you take the good, you take the bad, you take them both and then you have....if you finished that sentence properly, you're an 80's TV hound like I am!  Tomorrow I will have roughly 17 people at my house for the Thanksgiving feast - and although I have some preparations to finish, I am anticipating a very fun day. Our annual Bingo game is always a hit, I'm hoping to get some card playing in, watch a little football, some of the parade, and of course the food and beverages!  What I am NOT looking forward to is after tomorrow - the "Holiday" season.

I celebrate Christmas.  Always have, always will.  I put up a Christmas tree every year.  I enjoy the atmosphere of Christmas.  What I don't enjoy is the politically correct nonsense of the "Holiday" season.  I appreciate all of the holidays, and know that each holiday is held dear by those who celebrate it.  I do not make assumptions about who celebrates what.  If I wish you a Merry Christmas, I am not rubbing in your face that I celebrate Christmas, or trying to jam my religious beliefs down your throat.  I am merely expressing hope that you enjoy the Christmas season.  If you don't celebrate Christmas, my wishing you a Merry Christmas is not an insult to you.  If you say to me "Happy Hanukkah," I don't think you're trying to convert me.  I will just smile and say "Thank you - you as well."  Merry Christmas does not translate to YOU MUST CELEBRATE CHRISTMAS OR ELSE YOU ARE LESS OF A PERSON.  Quite the opposite - if I think enough of you to wish you joy on Christmas, that should say more than if I get the wrong holiday.

With all that being said, I have heard other people claim that it's insulting that the day after we give thanks for what we have, we go out to get deals on more things.  This doesn't mean we don't appreciate what we have, but as much as you explain to a child the meaning of Christmas isn't about receiving toys, I have news for you.  KIDS LIKE TOYS.  We are bombarded with advertisements regarding sales of these things, and of course kids will want them.  I, as a father, strive to make my children happy.  That's my job.  If I buy my children a PlayStation 3 for Christmas (which I'm not, but follow me) I am doing it for one reason...to bring joy to my family.  I am not doing it to "stimulate the economy", I am not doing it to make others that may not be able to afford it feel bad.  Trust me, my kids have had some lean Christmases in the past because I just didn't have the means to do what I would have liked.

I also don't need to be bombarded with the "PUT THE CHRIST BACK IN CHRISTMAS" propaganda.  I am not overly religious.  If that is how you celebrate Christmas, by all means, do so.  I never espouse my religious beliefs on anyone unless I am asked, and even then I don't most of the time.  I don't shove my beliefs down your throat, don't shove yours down mine.  If I choose not to attend mass on Christmas Eve, that doesn't make Christmas any less important to me.  To me, telling me how I should celebrate is as bad as telling me how I should be decorating my tree.

The point of all this is...whatever you celebrate, I hope you enjoy it.  I am not going to go through a whole laundry list of holidays every time I say good-bye to someone the next month.  I will say Merry Christmas.  If you feel you MUST correct me, do so respectfully, and realize I am not trying to convert you to Christianity. I am just wishing you well.

Now I must conclude this entry, as I have to prepare for Thanksgiving.  Enjoy your feasts.  If you drink, do so responsibly.  I am thankful for all of you who take the time to read my ramblings.  I am thankful for the comments which can be left here, on Facebook, or on Twitter. Truthfully, I'm just thankful to be here.  Be well, everyone.

Friday, October 26, 2012

INSPECT THIS - 2012 Redux

Hello my friends - you're looking well!  Have you been working out?  I was - but not lately - but that's a story for another time....

In 2010, I wrote about my anger with New York State regarding the ridiculousness of the annual NYS Vehicle inspection.  For those who didn't see it, here it is...go ahead and read it - I'll wait.

https://www.blogger.com/blogger.g?blogID=4707919910671984040#editor/target=post;postID=3306603787214536518

So, what brings me back to this rant?  An experience I had yesterday that got me angrier than a stutterer trying to read Dr. Seuss.

Last year, I bought my little Mini Cooper Convertible.  The brakes on the car were done before I picked it up, and it was inspected.  I have put a decent amount of miles on the car, but I don't abuse the thing.  I just don't think it can take that sort of treatment. 

Anyway, I noticed (with the help of a friendly neighborhood Town of Hyde Park Policeman) that my inspection had expired at the end of September.  I had thought it was October, but whatever.  I was strongly encouraged to have my inspection done.  As I work right next to a Monro Muffler shop, and I needed my oil changed as well, I thought "I'll go there".  Am I regretting that decision?  Would I be writing if it all went smoothly?  Nay nay, I would not, so.....let us move on.

After a couple of hours, I get a phone call saying my car will not pass inspection because I need new tires and new brake pads (which, ironically, is what Monro SPECIALIZES in - brakes and tires).  I was told that to get the brakes done and the tires I need for it to pass, it would cost me about $675 altogether.  Like most of you, I don't have an extra $675 that I can willy nilly just whip out for this - especailly since I did my back brakes earlier this year and they cost me over $400.00.  So I told them, "I can't do the tires and brakes right now - I'm not having problems with them - put the front left tire back on (that's what they took off to "inspect") and just do the oil change and I'll set up an appointment for the other stuff." 

I went over and picked up my car, and had a coupon for $20.00 off the oil change - which was negated by the fact that I have a "special" oil filter that they didn't have and had to buy.  Nice little bait and switch there.  So I start the car and two indicator lights on my dashboard that weren't on when I dropped the car off are glowing like stars in the night sky.  One is the tire pressure warning light, and the other is one I had never seen before, so I grab my manual (which I keep in the glove box because I am automotively illiterate) and look it up.  It's an indicator that says MY BRAKE PADS ARE LOW - which ironically is what they just told me.  I had pads that ground down to the rotors once when I fixed the back brakes and that light never came on.  If I hadn't looked it up, I wouldn't even know it was an OPTION.  The tire pressure light was also not on before I took it there, so I stopped to check the pressure on all the tires.  Oddly enough, the ONLY one in desperate need of air was the tire they removed - and it was down to less than 10 psi, when it normally is at 32. 

Now, I don't have a camera taking video of them doing my car, and I would never have thought until now of taking pictures of my dashboard indicator lights beforehand, but I really honestly feel like they sabotaged my car to get extra business out of me.  It doesn't matter that I use the car to TRANSPORT MY CHILDREN places - let's take the air out of the tire to see if he buys new ones from us.  Well, here's the deal Monro - when I do decide to get my tires and brakes, it sure as hell won't be from you.  I may even make a nice big sign and post it on the road by your business calling you out. 

Has this, or ANYTHING like this ever happened to any of you?  If so - comment away!!  Comments as always are welcome here, on the Facebook link, or on Twitter at @billwinters18.

Time for me to go.  I have to go call someone to get my inspection re-done.